I Love Grass-Fed Beef

I remember when I had family dinners at restaurants and they would state on the menu whether the steak was grass or grain fed, and I didn’t give a hoot about it at the time. It didn’t occur to me that there would be any difference health-wise. Alhamdulillah, I am not that ignorant anymore.

It all started after I got married and started cooking for my husband. On our grocery trip (we were living overseas at the time), we saw that the beef were clearly labeled as “grass-fed” or “grain-fed”. After a bit of pondering which was better (health-wise), we chose “grass-fed” as we knew cows naturally eat grass.

Later at home, we researched the topic and were glad we made the right choice. Some reading material that might be of interest:
Grass-Fed Meats
Grass-Fed vs Grain-Fed Beef: Is There a Taste Difference?
Corn-Fed vs Grass-Fed Beef
Why Grass-Fed Trumps Grain-Fed
Raising the Steaks (A cook-off. See who won.)

I wouldn’t call myself a meat connoisseur, so I can’t really tell if grass-fed tastes better than grain-fed. All I know is that the beef tastes delicious when I cook it and the fact that grass-fed is healthier makes it the only reason for me to buy it. Some of the articles I linked above might say it’s a bit difficult to cook grass-fed meat as it’s leaner, but I didn’t encounter any problems and I’m no masterchef.

Anyway, upon returning to Malaysia, I checked the meat labels at the grocery stores (Cold Storage, Village Grocer, Mercato, etc) and was disappointed to find out that they weren’t marked as grass or grain fed. I was contemplating asking the workers there because you know how it is — they don’t know themselves. I also wondered about going local and buying from the “pasar tani” (farmer’s market) because I figured our cows would eat grass. But the thought of asking the seller there to confirm the cows’ diet kind of put me off because I don’t want my question to be answered with a blank expression. Haha. Any of you know what our local livestock are fed?

Well, Alhamdulillah, my prayer was answered a few months ago. I recently found that the grocery stores were now stating whether the meat was grass or grain fed. Although some that I came across didn’t do a good job at labeling — due to the character limit of the label, they came out as “GRA”. Thanks, that helps a LOT! GRAss or GRAin? Hmm.

10 thoughts on “I Love Grass-Fed Beef

    • Hi Nur!

      I’m so glad to be of help. I’ve found the meat to be labeled at Cold Storage, Village Grocer, and Mercato. I’m not sure about Tesco, Carrefour, Giant, etc.

      As for Anchor butter, thank you for linking that article. However, I don’t think it applies to the Anchor butter sold in Malaysia. I just checked the Anchor butter in my fridge and it’s manufactured in NZ. Could be cheaper for us in Malaysia to still import from NZ, compared to those in UK.

      I found Kerrygold at Cold Storage, Village Grocer, and Mercato. It’s a bit pricier so I don’t think it’s sold in Tesco, Carrefour, Giant, etc although I could be wrong. Anchor butter, however, is sold in most groceries stores and cheaper too! 🙂 I love my Anchor butter! Read my tip in this post: https://warmfuzzy.wordpress.com/2013/01/03/good-fats-theyre-not-all-bad/

      • Hi WarmFuzzy,

        A few weeks ago I did a quick search and found that OBE Organic grass fed beef is widely available in village grocer and jaya grocer. A big YES to pastured cows. 🙂 You can check them out on Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/ObeOrganicHalal

        As for butter, I stand corrected. I’m happy that it’s easy to purchase Anchor butter as they are widely stocked in Jusco, Tesco etc. On the other hand, there’s a big hoo-haa recently with regards to Kerrygold, I’ll stick to Anchor from now onwards.

        Thanks for the reply!

  1. Hi Warm Fuzzy. I’ve been looking for grass-fed beef that is locally produced. I usually get the once we can find at supermarkets around klang valley but was wondering if there are cheaper options outside. Do you happen to if there’s any? Another thing I’ve been wondering, if indian beef we normally can find at the wet market are grass-fed.

    • Hi Sarah! Truly sorry for the late reply. Unfortunately I’m not aware of any place to buy local grass-fed beef. Hope anyone else who stumbles upon this post has the knowledge and can advise us!

  2. Hi warmfuzzy,
    what kind of fats do you consume? do you consume tallow? I’ve been looking everywhere for beef fat but can’t find any to render my own. Was just curious if you consume tallow.

    • Hello Agnes, Sorry I can’t be of any help as I am not sure where to buy grass-fed beef fat as I am not searching for it at the moment. I have found grass-fed beef at Cold Storage, Village Grocer, and Mercato. Maybe you can check if they sell the beef fat as well. Otherwise, if you know any local suppliers of pure grass-fed beef, you could ask them. Please let us know if you find any during your search.

      • assalam warmfuzzy..

        Im so glad that i found friends that consuming grass fed beef, grass fed butter and mct oils in malaysia.

        Im faeza and i live in subang perdana and working in KL. i have been following bulletproof and paleo diet for a few months now.

        I mostly bought wild cough fish from pasar around my house. Seldom ate meat because its deficult to find one. I always bought my grass fed lamb in aeon one utama. For beef, last time i found one in cold storage KLCC and i yesterday i found one obe organic beef in village groccer sunway giza.
        For chicken.. I usually bought DQ clean chicken because they said its grass fed . I bought it in aeon one utama too but recently they always out of stock 😦 im a bit disapointed so i bought free range chicken instead.

        I with we could chat more.
        Heres my email nurfaezainal(at)gmail.com

Leave a Reply

