Diet Matters

I was reading this article the other day about The Alkaline Mediterranean Diet and came across this sentence which I whole-heartedly believe in:

DIET MATTERS – no creams, potions, vitamin supplements, prescription medicine or surgery can compensate for an unhealthy diet.

When I say diet, I talk about the definition which means “food and drink regularly provided or consumed” and NOT “a regimen of eating and drinking sparingly so as to reduce one’s weight”. Just because I naturally like to eat healthier food than most people, it doesn’t mean I’m on a diet… it’s just my preferred choice of food.

For example, my favourite drinks are mineral water, mineral water with some freshly squeezed lemon juice, young coconut water (straight from the shell with no sugar added and I love to eat the soft coconut flesh inside — what a treat!), and fresh watermelon juice with no sugar added (although I much prefer eating the watermelon instead of drinking it). People usually think I’m a health nut but I’m really not. I just am not into coffee, tea, soda and juices (I would always prefer to eat the actual fruit).

As for food, I loooooove eating clear meat/chicken/seafood soup with the veggie cooked in it. That way all the nutrients are in the broth right? I super love a good, spicy Tom Yam, a hot bowl of Vietnamese Pho, or just a simple clear vegetable soup. All that soup just makes me so full that my stomach has no space for any additional beverage.

But of course, like I said, I’m not a health nut. I do love delicious cakes and cookies. So having a healthy diet allows me to splurge once in a while on naughty desserts.

2 thoughts on “Diet Matters

  1. hello, im 18 y/o and concerned about eating
    “real food” , as what wellnessmama.com suggest, it seems like butter and coconut oil good as subtitutes of vegetable oil, do i need to switch from.using palm oil to coconut oil or butter , is palm oil contains as much nutrien/good fat as butter and coconut oil ?

Leave a Reply

